2014 Crossfit Open: 14.1 Recap

14.1 has arrived…..

Lets get right into the meat of it:

10 Minutes to get as many rounds as possible of 30 Double Unders & 15 Power Snatch @ 55/75

My first score: 267

My first thought was “light weight but counteracted technical movements with the rope, a 10 minute redline workout.” My goal was to go at what would feel like an 80% effort for the first 8min and then redline the remainder. What happened was a bit different than what I had planned. It seems as though the double unders got the best of me and were the reason my score was one full round under what I intended on. I even scored three less reps than a week previous when I did this exact workout.

My tips:

DU’s:

These need to be unbroken or as close to unbroken as possible. In the realm of scoring, a DU takes less time to complete than the snatch by about a 4:1 factor and there are more of them to do so this should be your emphasis. Your head should stay in a neutral, forward facing position to maintain mid-line stability and the hands should stay reasonably close to the body if not slightly in front. The hollow body position and controlled breathing will help you get those extra reps and move on to the Snatch.

Snatch (Ground to Overhead):

I would love it if everyone minimized the movement of their feet, kept the bar path close to the body on the pull/return and went unbroken but its probably not going to happen. By round 3/4 things are going to get ugly. My easy to follow words of advice (and some of which I will try and use on my 2nd attempt more) are….do not let go of the bar until your 15 reps are complete, if you let go of the bar, it should be after you returned it to the ground and switch grips for a few quick clean to press, engage the hamstrings and fire those hips to save the lower back. This is ground to overhead we are talking about here. If you are not going to snatch every time due to fatigue, pick that f’n bar up and clean/press it for those reps. Do not stop moving. I said this was a redline workout so if there is a time to rest, its after the 10 minutes.

I know this is filled with run on sentences and poor punctuation but I am writing it as though it is running through my head while doing the WOD. It should look something like this:

headuphandsinclosetighttobodycontrolbreathingokgopickthatfuckingbarupkeepitclosehiphipskeepgoingyoucanrestinafewminutues

My last piece of legible advice, probably the most important part of this: If you missed the next round of DU’s by 1-3 reps (ie. you finished 13 or 14 snatches) and time was up, redo this WOD. By getting those last 1-3 reps and moving back on to DU’s you have a chance to increase your score significantly. Remember that 4:1 factor, DU’s are a dynamic movement where multiple reps are achieved in a very short time frame, get to that next round and get a much better score. If you failed with 10-15 snatches to go, take your rest days, get in some mobility and prepare for 14.2 because 10min of pain for 1 extra rep is not worth it.

If you have comments, tips that can help the community, feel free to post. Thanks for reading!

Leave a comment